Eagles abound


It was Saturday Feb 9th and I had to get out of the house. I was getting cabin fever pretty bad. I contacted a friend to see if she wanted to go check out an eagles nest with me since she has been there before and always seemed to like to get out in nature as much as I do.

It was a cool windy day with a slight chill in the air when you stepped out into the open areas. It is almost a 45 minutes drive for me to get to the location of the eagles nest but then it seems I am in the middle of everything that interest me. State Parks are about 45 minutes from me and so are all the eagles nest I know about. It would be nice to live someplace closer to what I enjoy doing.

Upon arrival we saw an eagle fly up to the nest. It is a large nest that has been used for many many years. A cousin of mine was the one who turned me on to the location of the nest about 17 years ago. It is located on an island in the middle of the Wabash river. So to get to the island itself you will need to be dropped off my helicopter or row a boat across to it. Most of the time during the spring of the year it is so muddy at the site that it is usually hard to get close enough to even get a descent shot of any of them. But, I try every chance I get to go check on them. To cross with a row boat would be a trip in itself. The current is usually rapid enough that you would be carried down river before you got halfway across the river.

Anyway, as we arrived an eagle flew up to the nest and commenced to arrange it from what it looked like. There was another eagle that was close by so we assumed it was the pair that mate at this nest each year. We stayed and watched these two birds until one flew away and the other one was sitting on a branch below the nest. It is a majestic sight to see our National Bird in the wilds like it is. Oh yeah, I have seen eagles in zoos before and was a lot closer to them than what I can in the wild. But who wants to see them caged up! I took a few shots from where I had parked the truck but finally ventured on out closer to the river bank. Yep, it was muddy but not to bad. Once I was close to the bank my shot was angled up more than from my previous location but that was alright. Mind you, I was still not close enough for the best shot. I used a Canon 5D Mark II with a 400mm f/5.6 and a 1.4 multiplier added to this. That made it roughly shooting at 560mm f/8 wide open. Well it is the best I can do as I sure can’t afford a good 600mm Canon lens at the price in the neighborhood of $10,000. Sure wish I could.

Here is what the nest looks like so you can see how big they actually are. A person could climb into one and lay down and take a nap real easy if they wanted too.

These first two pictures are not cropped so you can see that I was quite a long ways from the birds. You can still see them, just not to clear.Image

 

Image

The eagle that was on the nest flew over to the branch in the second shot then I noticed the other eagle below the nest.

This shot was of the eagle that was below the nest. Of course this shot has also been cropped so the eagle can be seen better.Image

My friend kept seeing other birds flying around the area too but I told her it was probably hawks or turkey vultures. I was wrong as I could finally see them clearer when they were almost directly overhead us. There was another pair that was following the river upstream. I had to shoot through all the tree tops but I did get one that is not the best but isn’t to bad. Maybe I can make another trip out there some day to get more shots that might be better in quality. Anyway, here is one of the eagles soaring above us. I love seeing these birds in the wild. Once again this shot was cropped since they were quite far up in the sky.

 

Flying-Eagle<

Once again, comments, good bad or indifferent are welcome.
Thanks for reading my blog.

About bobh47955

A nature lover, photographer and an all around good guy, I hope! :-)
This entry was posted in Nature, Trips and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Eagles abound

  1. Cindy says:

    Beautiful pics! Sounds like an awesome adventure that day!

  2. Linda Mason says:

    Such truly beautiful amazing birds. I love to see them back into nature and free..

  3. bobh47955 says:

    Thanks for the likes and comments!

Leave a Reply

