Life’s Little Pleasures


Every morning I get up and open my curtains so I can let the sunshine in, if there is any. Let the light in and it sort of makes the day a little brighter.

For the past several days I have been noticing some movement outside my window almost out of sight (to the left side of the window). So each morning when I open the curtains I look for this motion and I watch with great humor.

Everybody has seen how male birds will challenge each other for the opportunity to mate with a female. Robins and sparrow are plentiful in my area and so that is what I usually see everyday. Each day for the past few days I have witnessed a male robin standing in front of a large mirror I have outside leaning against the house. He gets right in front of the mirror, stars at his reflection then sticks his wings out a little so as to make himself appear bigger. Then he attacks his reflection and in doing so, flies upward to the top of the mirror. When he reaches the top he flitters back down to the ground. Squares off again and goes through the whole routine over and over again. I watched him do this for close to 20 minutes yesterday morning. Speaking of, he is back at it again. I wonder what goes through his mind when he reaches the top and the other bird disappears!

This is just one of life’s little pleasures that a person can miss if he does not stop to smell the roses once in a while. Unfortunately, most people cannot see the forest because of the trees. 🙂

About bobh47955

A nature lover, photographer and an all around good guy, I hope! :-)
This entry was posted in Nature, Wild Animals and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Life’s Little Pleasures

  1. Linda Mason says:

    Have fun viewing him and having a little comedy right outside your window. Such a nice start to a chilly morning..

  2. starrystez says:

    I love watching the birds – it’s amazing to think how much joy I missed before!

  3. bobh47955 says:

    A male Robin is back right now at the mirror. I guess instincts are what is driving him to jump and fly at his reflection. Either way I am enjoying watching him do this. 🙂

  4. Cindy says:

    We have a black headed robin here. Never seen one like this one. He, and I believe his mate, are somewhere in the area because we see him almost daily. He’s fun to watch because he stands out from the crowd.

  5. bobh47955 says:

    Thanks for the likes and comments!

Leave a Reply

