Listening


Today I worked on getting my garden ready for planting. I spaded every bed then tilled all but three of them. I did enough for today and besides I have plenty of time to get it all done since planting time is still almost a whole month away for most vegetables.

While I was working out there I could hear all sorts of birds in the area. I could hear a Woodpecker pecking on a tree about a block away. I heard a Red Winged Black Bird somewhere in my neighbors yard but couldn’t find him. The Robins were singing all around me. I heard the song of a Turtle Dove cooing. A Cardinal was calling, close by, but I could not find him either. Three Crows flew over head making all kinds of racket. Black Birds, to numerous to count were all around. Some where sitting up in a tree watching me. Probably waiting for me to walk away so they could come down and look for worms and or pick the spinach seeds out that I had just planted. Yeah, some of Mother Natures animals are pretty sneaky when they need to be. I guess that is just survival to them. I just hope they don’t eat all the seeds I planted but instead leave me some that will grow. 🙂

About bobh47955

A nature lover, photographer and an all around good guy, I hope! :-)
This entry was posted in Birds, Garden, Nature and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Listening

  1. Linda Mason says:

    Sounds like you had a very rewarding day.Isn’t it so nice to hear all the birds chirping away again. Maybe with a little luck they were just wondering what you were doing. Hope your able to reap a good harvest this year. Just be careful and try not to over do it all at once.

  2. We have some crows and chickadees this morning. I like to listen to the birds.

  3. Cindy says:

    Love being outside when I can to listen to the birds and watching the rabbits and squirrels here. Hope you get lots of rewards for your hard work this year!

  4. bobh47955 says:

    Thanks for the comments and likes!

Leave a Reply

