A Warm Spring Day


It was just a beautiful day. It was close to 70 degrees with a breeze blowing. At first it was cool enough to wear a jacket or sweater but before it was much past noon it was warm enough for short sleeve shirts. Before I left the house I donned my do-rag (bikers wrap) and headed out the door.

Since it was close to noon my friend and I stopped at SubWay and bought a couple of 6 inch subs. We took a drive out to the Prophetstown State Park to eat our lunch. Of course I had my camera with a flash and battery pack and my 100 mm macro lens along with a 70-200 mm lens. You never know what you might run across at the state parks so try to be prepared. One of the things that amazes me is that you can walk on top of some flowers (weeds) and not even know you have they are so small. The first thing we saw was some blue flowers, white flowers and another one that sort of looks violet to me but my friend says it was pink.

2013Apr07_0421
An internet search and this flower has been identified. It is a Purple Dead-nettle (Lamium purpureum). They are a common lawn weed in the mint family, but without a minty aroma.

2013Apr07_0416
I believe this is Bittercress. It is a common weed.

Unfortunately my batteries in my flash and battery pack had lost their charge so I could not get a shot photo of the little blue flowers.

We drove to the Botanical Gardens to see if wildflowers had started blooming. As soon as we were in front of the gardens I could see blue flowers all over the place. I was hoping there were more flowers blooming so a little stroll throught the gardens was in order. There were only a few flowers that had actually bloomed so I have already planned another trip in less than a week. Hopefully I will get some great shots of all that avail themselves to me.

2013Apr07_0447
Another internet search and this has been identified also. It is a Siberian Squill. There were thousands of them all over the place and very pretty.

2013Apr07_0451
All I can come up with on this flower is that it is a Purple Iris. I only saw the two of them.

2013Apr07_0453
It takes a while to find these flowers through the internet but this one is Sanguinaria Canadensis (Bloodroot).

Mind you these last three flowers were taken with only existing light. I still think they came out fairly well in spite of it all. The highlight of the day was when we first arrived at the Botanical Gardens. There was a little boy around the age of 7 who saw me and he said; “Hey you look like a pirate.” I looked at him and said; “Arrrrr, me matey.”

About bobh47955

A nature lover, photographer and an all around good guy, I hope! :-)
This entry was posted in Flowers, Garden, Nature, Wildflowers and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to A Warm Spring Day

  1. Linda Mason says:

    Your pictures of the flowers turned out Beautiful Bob. The dark purple and the light blue are my favorites. Very pretty!!!!

  2. Annie's Place says:

    Wow, you found some beautiful flowers. It is nice to have public gardens to visit.

  3. Cindy says:

    Isn’t it amazing how beautiful some weeds can be!

  4. bobh47955 says:

    Thanks for the likes and comments!

Leave a Reply

