Wildflowers


Today was another trip out to the Botanical Gardens in Lafayette Indiana. It was a rather cool day with a breeze blowing but it wasn’t to bad.

Upon arrival I could see all the Virginia Blue Bells and Flax and some flowers that looked like domestic flowers. I can say that I never get tired of seeing Virginia bluebells. I think I am going to try to grow a few in my wildflower bed next year.

Dutchman's-BritchesThis is Dutchman’s Britches.

Nodding Trillium This is a Nodding Trillium before it fully opens.

Virginia-Blue-BellsMy Favorite Wildflowers, Virginia Blue Bells

PurpleThis is a Hydrangea. I have no idea if it is a wildflower or a domestic flower. Last week there were three different colored ones, white, blue and the purple one, but this week all I saw was the ones that were about done with.

As I was leaving I noticed some dead plants by the Garden sign. So I unloaded my fanny pack with my extra lens and took a few pictures of the dead heads (as I call them). Nothing fancy about dead plants but they still have their own beauty.
Dead-Head

Dead-Head-2

About bobh47955

A nature lover, photographer and an all around good guy, I hope! :-)
This entry was posted in Flowers, Garden, Nature, Trips, Wildflowers and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Wildflowers

  1. Linda Mason says:

    Such awesome pictures Bob, but I’m like you I love the Virginia Blue Bells the best. the Dutchman’s Britches is really neat and interesting. Beautiful pictures!!!!

  2. All Beautiful! But the ‘Dutchman’s Britches’ … i would like them call ‘White Bats’ instead! 🙂 Don’t they look like bats hanging from cave walls?

  3. Annie's Place says:

    I like the Hydrangea. They look like little stars to me.

  4. Cindy says:

    Love those Dutchman’s Britches. Never seen them before. Always did love the unusual though.

Leave a Reply

