Rock Tumbling


No it is not rolling stones down a hill. Although that could be fun too. It is the hobby of collecting rocks and putting them into a rock tumbler with some different grades of grit to smooth and finally polish the rocks.

Just recently I had started tumbling rocks (yes common ordinary rocks) and when they are through the first tumble you just cannot believe how pretty they are. Even a common piece of granite is a beautiful rock when tumbled and polished. There is design and color in most rocks but you cannot see it until you make that first tumble. Each tumble is for a constant 7 days. Yeah, these tumbling machines are really something to run that long. Each tumble that comes closer to the completed objects uses a finer grit of silicon material and with each tumble the stones becomes smoother and finally they shine. What you do with the stones then is up to you personally. Some put them in jars and sit them around the house but usually in windows where the sun can shine on them and then they can be enjoyed for what they have turned out to be. Then there are others who go one step further and make things out of them.

I found a web site that is strictly for tumbling, carving and making jewelry out of rocks. I am in awe of how beautiful a rock with the material to wrap it in can look in a pendant, ring or bracelet. After the final polish tumble they shine and shimmer and make beautiful jewelry inserts. I hope to learn to do this also and will post pics if I do.

My only problem right now is identifying what kind of rock I have. So far most of my rocks I have in the tumbler are granite but I also have some aventurine in with that. So far so good on the tumbling. I have books on Rocks and Minerals but I still have some rocks that I have no idea what they are. They are my next project when I tumble my next batch. They are dark rocks but they have white spots all over them. Sort of reminds me of a Dalmatian dog’s coat but more round. Oh well, I’ll see how they turn out when I get to them.

If anyone else has this hobby I would love to hear from you.

One of the creations I have seen done with rocks and some wire. I do know that some of these creations are for sale.

One of the creations I have seen done with rocks and some wire. I do know that some of these creations are for sale.

About bobh47955

A nature lover, photographer and an all around good guy, I hope! :-)
This entry was posted in Tumbling and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Rock Tumbling

  1. Cindy says:

    Will be anxious to see your rocks when you finish them.

  2. Yes, people do sell this type of jewelry. I think it is lovely.

  3. Depending on what the dots look like, could be snowflake obsidian . . . it is black with white spots that sort-of look like . . . wait for it . . . snowflakes! 🙂 Dalmation jasper is white with black spots . . . imagine that! Ha! I would be able to tell more when I see a picture. Could also just be another form of granite. Anxiously awaiting more photos of rocks! 🙂 Keep it up, my friend! Have a wonderful weekend 🙂

Leave a Reply

