Columbian Park Zoo


Today, like yesterday, has been just absolutely beautiful outside. The sun is shining, a slight breeze is blowing and mother nature is just calling me to enjoy it for all it is worth.

I should be working on my house project that I started yesterday but since it was so nice I just had to get out and enjoy it before we get more rain. So I went to Columbian Park Zoo to capture some butterflies in the Aviary area. When I rounded the corner to where I would park I saw three big school busses parked close to the entrance of the park. Oh boy, kids to contend with today. I was right but they were a lot of adults there that had the mind of a child. It must have been an outing of handicapped children today. Believe it or not but they were better behaved than normal school children. Still it gave me a little bit of an odd feeling seeing someone in their 40’s or 50’s acting more like a child under the age of 5. But yet it is sort of nice knowing that they have a whole world to explore again and again. Even though the zoo area was packed with people I still managed to get off over 40 shots of flowers, butterflies and zoo animals. I actually had to good time today. I usually have a companion with me but not this time.

I met one man there and he said he and his family was from Danville Illinois. They were there to see the zoo. He said he was impressed with it and really liked that it was free to get into. He also ask me if I could take his families pictures while they stuck there faces in the cutouts. I think the cutouts are ring-tailed lemurs but not sure. I told him I go to the VA in Danville all the time and after we talked and the pictures were taken he thanked me for taking the photographs and also for serving our country. That was nice of him and his family to do that.

Anyway, here is a few photos of what I saw today. I may go back some other day and hopefully it will not be as crowded.

Another creature that doesn't stay very long in one place. You have to be quick to capture them.

Another creature that doesn’t stay very long in one place. You have to be quick to capture them.

I usually use my ring flash on these type pictures but I figured I would go without it today.

I usually use my ring flash on these type pictures but I figured I would go without it today.

In my opinion this is my best shot of the day. I love it.

In my opinion this is my best shot of the day. I love it.

These critters don't stay in one place very long. Zip Zip, in and out!

These critters don’t stay in one place very long. Zip Zip, in and out!

After my day of avoiding work (at home) in the park, I also went to KFC and ate all that cholesterol filled, fattening, salty food. It may be bad for me but it sure was good. 🙂

Have a great day everyone!

About bobh47955

A nature lover, photographer and an all around good guy, I hope! :-)
This entry was posted in Critters, Flowers, Garden, Interesting Areas, Nature, Parks, Trips, Wild Animals, Wildflowers and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Columbian Park Zoo

  1. Cindy says:

    Love the butterfly pic best of all! Turned out great and glad you had a beautiful day to enjoy!

  2. Hi Bob! You sound just like my Dad!!! 🙂 Though from a different part of the world, he too loves to venture out for his own ‘bit of adventure’, all alone…. and do whatever possible to break the restrictions imposed on him for health reasons!! 😀 And after each such expedition, he comes back with lots of stories of strangers and describing how nice they were. …. Keep on clicking such colorful photographs for us to see! Lot’s of love! 🙂

    • bobh47955 says:

      Then your dad must be a very nice gentleman if he comes back with tales of how nice others are.

      What part of the world might you be from? Sounds like Oriental to me. Lotus blossom and all.

Leave a Reply

