My Dream Home


The first of the week I drove to Shades State Park area to take some photographs of the Deers Mill Covered Bridge they have on the east side of the park. It is located on highway 234 just a short distance from the park entrance. You will pass Pine Hills Nature Preserve after you pass the park entrance turnoff and just before you get to the covered bridge. Pine Hills Nature Preserve is a nice area and has changed tremendously since the first time I had visited it. I might have to go visit it again some day soon.

Anywho, the main reason for my journey that day was to take photographs of the covered bridge and also go see a small home that was located in Parke County that a friend had told me about. It was for sale by owner. It is a good long trip to get to the location but I was thrilled when I saw the home. It is not what I call a home per say but rather it was a modern log cabin. I almost passed by it since it is off the road and surrounded by woods. I loved what I was looking at when I pulled into the parking area. It was a two-story cabin. It looked like about 2 acres were cleared off for the cabin which was apparently one big room downstairs and one big one upstairs. It had a nice front porch that had a swing on one end and I think it had one window on each side of the house. I took several pictures of it dreaming of it being my home and how much I would love it.

(Click on the photographs to enlarge them, that way you can see more detail in them. Once you open the picture you can click on it again to enlarge it a little more.)

Cabin-in-the-woods

Porch swing, steps and a big enough porch to entertain guests

Porch swing, steps and a big enough porch to entertain guests

The only drawbacks I saw about it was no cellphone signal, no electricity and apparently you had to use an outhouse. The only water supply I saw was the spigot that you can see in the last shot (close to the picnic table). Of course the outhouse could have been a storage area and made to look like an outhouse as a conversation and authentic scene maker.

The John and it is not port-a-potty either.

The John and it is not port-a-potty either.

So all in all it love the cabin even though I could not see inside it. I believe it was a cabin built for weekend or week-long hunting adventurers. It would still make a wonderful home for some old-timer like myself.

I called the number that was on the for sale sign by the entrance drive and left a message. So far no one has returned my call and it sort of disappoints me as I really wanted to know if I could afford something like that instead of this house in a small town Indiana…..

My dream home as it is.

My dream home as it is.

About bobh47955

A nature lover, photographer and an all around good guy, I hope! :-)
This entry was posted in Interesting Areas, Nature, Travel, Trips and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to My Dream Home

  1. Good luck with your quest!
    It looks the ideal sort of place to get a good night’s sleep, getting into a proper day/night routine – woken by the birds singing in the morning and ‘turning in’ when the sun dips below the horizon – not much sleep this time of year perhaps but sound and uninterrupted.

  2. Cindy says:

    I can see you living there, but you need electricity and all those pleasures you have where you are! But, isn’t this awesome and so peaceful looking!

Leave a Reply

