Fossils update


I went to Sugar Creek and did some stone searching for my tumbler again. While there I saw a girl in her late 20’s or early 30’s also picking up something from the creek bed. When I got close to her I ask if she was searching for rocks and she told me “No Crinoids.” Okay she showed me some she had found and they were way different than what I had found the day before. These were the actual pieces of the Crinoids. Ah ha! I thought you could only find them embedded in rocks. So she showed me a few as I watched her find them. It looked easy but it was hard for me to get my mind set on finding them in the shape they were in. Well after she went up steam from me I found my first one and it was a nice one. Better than what she had showed me. Made me feel pretty good finding one as nice as I did. After a while I could finally get my eyes and mind adjusted to looking for round objects and not the colored ones like I was also looking for in rocks. So after what seemed like a short while I had found a few and was ready to head home. When I check my watch I noticed I had been there for over two hours. Wow! There were several people there who were also finding Crinoids so there are tons of them to find. I will make another trip to find more and maybe I will find a whole one or at least close to a whole one.

Today's find. I was surprised when I found out some of these creatures were a rather large creature. What I had found were only small ones.

Today’s find. I was surprised when I found out some of these creatures were a rather large creature. What I had found were only small ones.

The whole Crinoids that are found are usually put in museums. There is some on display at the public library in Crawfordsville. Seen them but never paid any attention to them as I didn’t care. Now I have some interest in them.

In fairness to yesterdays post I retook the photographs taking care to get a nice focus and lite better. So here is what I had posted yesterday. Enjoy!

This is a Crinoid that had gotten embedded into a rock. This is a Crinoid that had gotten embedded into a rock.

Another Crinoid that was embedded in the same rock.

Another Crinoid that was embedded in the same rock.

A shell fossil embedded in the same rock.

A shell fossil embedded in the same rock.

This little feller was eating an aphid right by where I was taking Crinoid photos so I had to take one of him.

Eating-Aphid

About bobh47955

A nature lover, photographer and an all around good guy, I hope! :-)
This entry was posted in creeks, Encouragement, fossils, Nature, Parks, Rocks, Trips, water and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Fossils update

Leave a Reply

