My First Time


NO, NO, NO, not that! 🙂 It is entirely something different.

Anyone who has been following my blog knows that I have many hobbies. Well, I just added another one to the growing list. Like I don’t already have enough to keep me busy. Anyway, I have been tumbling rocks in my tumbler and I have been wanting to get a Cabochon machine so I can make my own cabs. Unfortunately for me they are really expensive. So I did what I could and while I was at a Rock Shop in a nearby town I purchased a Cabochon. I already had ordered wire and I had it at home waiting for me to do something with it. I have 21 gauge copper, 16 gauge square copper, 21 gauge sterling silver and last but not least 16 gauge half round sterling silver. All the wire is tarnish resistant. I also have some tools for working with all this wire. So after postponing my first attempt at Wire Wrapping a Cabochon for a week I made myself sit at my desk tonight and see what I could do. It seemed like it took me forever but I finally got it done.

I will let you decide if I should quite my day job (even though I am retired) or pursue making some more of these little puppies.

I did mar up the wire a little but I am learning you know! 😉 I do hope to get better when I try some smaller cabs.

Again, all comments, good, bad or indifferent are welcome.

This Cabochon alone is 1 3/4 inches long and 1 1/4 inches wide.

This Cabochon alone is 1 3/4 inches long and 1 1/4 inches wide.

About bobh47955

A nature lover, photographer and an all around good guy, I hope! :-)
This entry was posted in Cabs, New experiences, Rocks and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to My First Time

  1. Cindy says:

    I think it looks great, especially for a first attempt. As with all hobbies, it takes practice to perfect skills, but you’ll get there! Can’t wait to see more of them!

Leave a Reply

