McCormicks Creek State Park


It was a nice day and temperatures were not expected to get very warm. I think it actually did get to about 74 degrees and that is alright. The sun was shining most of the time and hiding behind clouds some of the time. All in all it was a nice day.

I made a trip today to McCormicks Creek State Park. From my home town it is a 70 mile trip one way. That comes out to about a little over an hour and a half drive. I had been to McCormicks Creek State Park before but that was back in 1994 or 1995 with my two youngest kids. It had changed some since them which is what about all parks have done since my kids were young.

My first stop was The McCormicks Creek Falls. I waited for a long time (about 15 minutes for two boys to get away from the falls so I could get a better shot of it but they absolutely refused to leave. The parents were close by and knew I wanted to take photographs of the falls but they didn’t seem to care either.

The two little boys who just would not get out of the picture.

The two little boys who just would not get out of the picture.

I had to settle for just part of the falls today.

I had to settle for just part of the falls today.

McCormicks-Creek

I followed trail 3 which started by the Inn and it actually ended close to the Inn again. It was a rugged trail and I know I will be feeling it tomorrow when I try to get out of bed. Sure wish I had a nurse maid when I wake in the morning.

After my short hike I ate some lunch in the Inn. I had the buffet. It was okay but nothing to speak highly of. I never eat my moneys worth on a buffet so I have no idea why I get it.

I drove to a few places in the park and took photographs and then came on home. The park was to busy for me today so I will have to plan another trip on a weekday so I can more of less have more of the park to myself. Everyplace I went today was super busy and the parking spaces were all taken.

Yellow Coneflower at the Nature Center.

Yellow Coneflower at the Nature Center.

Bee on a yellow flower at the Nature Center.

Bee on a yellow flower at the Nature Center.

CCC-Building

This is the CCC building.

Recreation Building

Recreation Building

The Park will be there when I decide to go back so it was no big deal today. However it did get me out of this area for a little while today.

About bobh47955

A nature lover, photographer and an all around good guy, I hope! :-)
This entry was posted in creeks, Flowers, Interesting Areas, Nature, Parks, Rocks, stupid people, Trips, water, Wildflowers and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to McCormicks Creek State Park

  1. Cindy says:

    Love that second pic of the falls without the boys in it. It’s a gorgeous shot and shows how the falls bounce and flow off the rocks. Well done!

  2. Mark says:

    I like the flowers Bob. The watermark is a bit big though. You gotta keep moving or you’ll ossify … 🙂

Leave a Reply

