Makes Me Wonder


Today I went to an area that was closed to the public. I did not know that until later on. Oops, I did a “No No.” No signs saying closed so I am partly to blame. It is a large tract of land that has a small home and several farm builldings.

I went there for the sole purpose of taking some HDR photographs of the small one room home that is sitting among all the farm buildings. I know this small home had to been used as it had a pot-bellied stove that was once inside the home. I also took HDR photographs of the farm implements and buildings that surrounded it but that will be for a later post.

So with that said. I will say that I would love to know more about this small home and who lived in it but so far I cannot find anything on the internet about it. It’s a shame too. The house is about ready to fall down so I am glad I managed to get some photographs while it is still standing. You will see what I mean in the following photographs.

A tin roof and shake siding. For those days it would work wonders but this day and age, I don’t think so.

Once again, comments, good bad or indifferent are more than welcome. Enjoy the photographs.

This one room home is in bad shape but still it had served it's purpose at one time for somebody.

This one room home is in bad shape but still it had served it’s purpose at one time for somebody.

This is the view of one side of the home. Many of the windows had been covered so there were only three that were usable.

This is the view of one side of the home. Many of the windows had been covered so there were only three that were usable.

The floors, what was left of them, had all kinds of various matter lying on it. I think a lot of it was from visitors after the owner moved out.

The floors, what was left of them, had all kinds of various matter lying on it. I think a lot of it was from visitors after the owner moved out.

Too much stuff to be from a previous owner. I was inside this home a few years ago and there was not that many items on the floors. You could actually see most of the floor then.

Too much stuff to be from a previous owner. I was inside this home a few years ago and there was not that many items on the floors. You could actually see most of the floor then.

Very few cabinets in there.

Very few cabinets in there.

I walked over to this shelf with great care. I didn't want to fall through the floor, although the ground was only a few inches below the floor, but I had to see what the bottle was. I can say that it was old old old.

I walked over to this shelf with great care. I didn’t want to fall through the floor, although the ground was only a few inches below the floor, but I had to see what the bottle was. I can say that it was old old old.

The walls had layers of newspapers and magazines that they were apparently using for insulation.

The walls had layers of newspapers and magazines that they were apparently using for insulation.

This is the old stove pipe exit from the homes roof.

This is the old stove pipe exit from the homes roof.

This pot-bellied stove has seen better days

This pot-bellied stove has seen better days

Bet this didn't work to well to keep the skeeters out of the home.

Bet this didn’t work to well to keep the skeeters out of the home.

UPDATE:
I contacted the DNR about this tract of land over the weekend and was filled in to the condition of everything. Unfortunately they know no more than I do about this little home. I guess I will have to do some research at the county courthouse at a later date. I just have to know the history about this little home.

About bobh47955

A nature lover, photographer and an all around good guy, I hope! :-)
This entry was posted in Interesting Areas, Travel, Trips and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Makes Me Wonder

  1. Cindy says:

    Those are awesome. Wouldn’t you love it if those walls could talk. There has to be a story behind this home. Would enjoy finding out, too!

  2. Cindy says:

    Oh, and thanks because now you’ve peaked my curiosity, too!

  3. bobh47955 says:

    Thanks for the likes and comment!

  4. MHowe says:

    I love being able to photograph out old homes! Oh the stories they tell…if you just listen. Thanks for sharing Bob! What a wonderful glimpse of years past! 🙂

Leave a Reply

