My Initiation in Reiki


Sorry people. No pics on this one.

Today, September 21, I went to Indianapolis Indiana to take a class in Reiki. It was Reiki I. Although I had Distance Healing done on me a couple of times I was really skeptical or me learning to perform Reiki on myself or anyone else for that matter.

I was there early just like I am for everything else I do. I sat and talked with the instructor, Connie Bunting of The Reiki Center of Indiana, until the other participate showed up. Connie started the class right at 9 AM like planned. In the morning we had two attunements that opens our bodies up to the Life Force Energies. My first attunement was okay but it was not a shocker like I was sort of expecting it to be. I could still feel where she had placed her hands on me even 10 minutes after she had completed it. After the attunement I started feeling a sort of nervous jittery feeling in my upper arms. In a way it felt like when your arms first start waking up after being asleep but yet they didn’t. After the 2nd attunement the tingling/jittery feeling moved down so it was also in my forearms. We had a little more instructions then we broke for lunch which was just a short walk across the street to a rather nice but busy restaurant. During lunch my arms and hands were tingling so much I talked to Connie about it.

When we got back from lunch we had our third attunement but this time her hands were very cold on my shoulders and head but when she touched my hands they were warmer than before with the first two attunements. After some more instructions she gave us the 4th and final attunement but this time her hands were warmer than before. After she was through doing the last one my arms were tingling a lot. I talked to her about it and she explained that everyone reacts differently to different things. Okay so I am not abnormal.

To make this shorter I will just give the highlights on the rest of my story. She taught us how to scan our own bodies and to open the chakras that needed worked on. She showed us the hand placements for self-help and for helping others. I scanned the young lady that was my partner, that was also there to learn, while she laid upon the Reiki table and I was really surprised that I could actually feel her chakras that she needed help with. It was mind-boggling to me to be able to feel it on myself let alone on someone else. I worked on her with different hand placements and afterwords gave her a body cleans. Connie ask for feedback from me and her about what we felt during the process. It was encouraging to me to hear what she had to say as you sometimes don’t feel the Ki flowing through you or into her. You just don’t know if it is working or not. During the time I worked on her crown chakra my arms were so jittery I just knew that she could feel it. Which she did say that she did and in the other places that I was jittery.

It was then my turn to lay upon the table and she did the body scan on me. I guess the only place she felt anything was in my solar plexus area. She went through the hand placements on me and I felt little of nothing except her hands were cold. When she worked on my solar plexus I could feel movement inside my stomach area but when she placed her hands on my one knee and ankle I felt a rush of warmth. The same happened with the other knee and ankle. The last hand placement was on my feet. Now I am ticklish there but when she touched them it did not make me pull away. I felt good all the way up into my thighs while she was doing the Reiki on my feet. It felt so good that I didn’t want her to stop. After that she give me a cleans of my body. When Connie ask me what I felt I told them that it felt great and didn’t want her to stop on my knees/ankles and feet. What was really touching was that the young lady said that while she was doing the Reiki on me that she felt her father was with her. Apparently her father was her spirit guide. That is so cool!

Was I skeptical about Reiki again. You bet!

Do I now believe that it works. You bet!

Will I practice it on myself and others when the opportunity arises. You bet!

Will some of you (if you read this far) think I am crazy. You bet! 🙂

There are many things in this world that cannot be explained. They have to be felt inside your soul and mind in order to understand them. Some may never know the joy of this feeling as they have closed themselves up to any outside of what they see and can verify.

About bobh47955

A nature lover, photographer and an all around good guy, I hope! :-)
This entry was posted in Encouragement, New experiences, Reiki and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to My Initiation in Reiki

  1. Hi Bob,
    I don’t think your crazy I think you are open and aware 🙂
    Thanks for sharing your story.

  2. KraftedKhaos says:

    Congratulations on not only getting out and doing it, but on having success at it as well!

    Sounds like something I’ll have to look into, if only for my own information. I love to learn about new things 🙂

  3. Cindy says:

    Great story! Enjoyed it. Yes, people do have closed minds to things like this and things they cannot see right in front of them. Glad you had a successful class!

Leave a Reply

