Turkey Run State Park in Indiana


Yesterday and today was so nice out, I had to take advantage of the weather and get out and take some fall color photographs. Today was a visit to Turkey Run State Park in west central Indiana. The colors have not changed a lot yet but the yellows are definately there. Some reds make it an awesome sight to see but they are rare and far between.

I arrived at about 11:15 and started my adventure by going to the nature center first. After-all, it’s a long long drive from my home in Linden to the park. I walked down to the suspension bridge not knowing if it had been repaired and back in commission and to my delight it was ready to use. It looked nice having all new wood on the bridge. So my first objective was to hit trail 3 that runs along side Sugar Creek. I took a few photographs and also found out I am out of shape for hikng the trials like when I was a 20 year old. So with some huffing and puffing I made it to my destinations and photographed what I found interesting or pretty to show others. The following photographs were some of what I had seen today. I saw and talked to many people today so it was a good day with the sunshine and all.

Trail 3 where it starts through a canyon.

Trail 3 where it starts through a canyon.

A couple feet to the left and the view changed quite a bit.

A couple feet to the left and the view changed quite a bit.

The church behind the Inn.

The church behind the Inn.

This Statue is a memorial of Juliet Virginia Strauss.

This Statue is a memorial of Juliet Virginia Strauss.

The Leiber Memorial that is by the church.

The Lieber Memorial that is by the church.

The bridge that is at the beginning of trail 3.

The bridge that is at the beginning of trail 3.

Part of trail 3 that runs along side Sugar Creek.

Part of trail 3 that runs along side Sugar Creek.

This is Sunset Point.

This is Sunset Point.

I bet this would be a pretty vantage point to watch the sun set.

I bet this would be a pretty vantage point to watch the sun set.

As you approach the suspension bridge you are greeted with this view.

As you approach the suspension bridge you are greeted with this view.

This is part of Sugar Creek west of Cox Ford Covered Bridge.

This is part of Sugar Creek west of Cox Ford Covered Bridge.

And of course this is Cox Ford Covered Bridge.

And of course this is Cox Ford Covered Bridge.

It was a wonderful day to get back out into nature after not doing so for such a long time. Tomorrow I will probably pay for it dearly but it was worth it.

Comments welcome, good, bad or indifferent.

About bobh47955

A nature lover, photographer and an all around good guy, I hope! :-)
This entry was posted in creeks, HDR, Interesting Areas, Nature, Parks, Photography, Trips and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Turkey Run State Park in Indiana

  1. Linda Mason says:

    Glad you were able to have a beautiful day Bob. You really captured some beautiful shots and lovely Fall colors. Great reflections to as you got farther down by the suspension bridge. I really enjoyed viewing these. Lovely shots!!!

  2. Dee says:

    Wonder if the “The Lieber Memorial that is by the church” has anything to do with my street? Did you make that connection?

  3. Cindy says:

    Beautiful pics!

Leave a Reply

