A Day with my Friend


Knowing that yesterday might be the last day to enjoy some fall colors, I picked up a friend and we went to the Celery Bog to walk around and take some photographs. Well I took the photographs and she just watched. It was a little chilly at first and the wind was blowing but not really bad. Once you get into the wooded area you don’t notice any wind at all.

It was just gorgeous walking around on the trails and walking close to the bog itself. We saw some Canadian Geese and some Mallards but that was about all of the water foul. There was a lot of yellows and a slight orange hue to many of the leaves. It was actually breathtaking to just admire the view that mother-nature was giving us. I could live in a wooded area the rest of my live and I would be very happy even if I didn’t have much else.

When we first arrived there were two guys who was working on the ampi-theater that had been built this year. They were using one of those tools that measures distance and they were rolling it along the front of the stage. More money going out so it is apparent that the West Lafayette Parks Department must have some money in these hard times.

It was a good day to be out and I enjoyed it very much. Good weather and a good friend to share it with. I always say that “Things are enjoyed better when they are shared with someone.” I still believe that too. I have seen many magnificent sights in this old world and they were appreciated very much, but, they were enjoyed more with a friend.

Okay so here is some pictures from what we did and saw yesterday. I am glad we made it yesterday as between the rain and the wind the leaves are falling off the trees like crazy today. I guess we can thank out lucky stars for yesterday.

A photograph of when we first arrived at the Celery Bog. Sharing a day with a friend.

A photograph of when we first arrived at the Celery Bog. Sharing a day with a friend.

I love the low angle shots like this.

I love the low angle shots like this.

An empty bench. If a person sits on a cold bench, does that make them a bench warmer?

An empty bench. If a person sits on a cold bench, does that make them a bench warmer?

Good weather, good conversation and great company.

Good weather, good conversation and great company.

A view into the woods.

A view into the woods.

Looking to the south on the bog.

Looking to the south on the bog.

My dear friend and I enjoying the view. Looking for water foul too.

My dear friend and I enjoying the view. Looking for water foul too.

My friend and I being silly.

My friend and I being silly.

I posted this picture on facebook and the caption went like this. “The Perfect kids. Never talk back, very quiet, and easy to keep track of.”

After we left the Celery Bog we drove out onto the new highway 231. Before we made it back to her place to drop her off we stopped at the Fort Ouiatenon which is out in the country west of Lafayette along the Wabash River. We walked and talked around the fort grounds for a while then I saw the possibility of a good photograph looking to the west into the sun. I loved the reflection of the clouded sky in the river water so I took a couple trying to capture what I was actually seeing. I think I came pretty darned close to what I saw in these two photographs. I knew the sun would be setting close to what would seem to be setting into the river but she needed to get back home to check on her dog. Poor fellow was shut up in the bathroom in case he had an accident. He is an old dog and is housebroken, but accidents do happen even with the best of pets. My friend called me when I got home and told me her dog was whining when she walked into her apartment. Poor guy couldn’t hardly wait to get outside he had to pee so bad.

I know the sunset would have been beautiful.

I know the sunset would have been beautiful.

This was a few hours before the sunset.

This was a few hours before the sunset.

This may be my last post for the year or at least until we get some good snows. State Parks like Turkey Run have hills, canyons and hollers and they look beautiful when they have fresh snow of them. So you never can tell. One good blizzard and I may venture out to Turkey Run and take some photographs of all the snow. I hate to see the fall colors leaving but at least I had to opportunity to get out and admire them a lot this year.

So hang loose my friends and we’ll see what happens in the near future.

About bobh47955

A nature lover, photographer and an all around good guy, I hope! :-)
This entry was posted in Children, Encouragement, HDR, Interesting Areas, Nature, Parks, Photography, Rocks, Trips, water and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to A Day with my Friend

  1. greeneyes49 says:

    Absolutely lovely photos Bob, glad you enjoyed your day with a friend 🙂

  2. Linda Mason says:

    I had a great time spending the day with you always special. Big hugs..

  3. Cindy says:

    The sights are amazing! So glad you shared this with a special friend. Just love the pics!

Leave a Reply

