A Warm Fall Day.


December 1, 2013 Sunday. Where has time flown! Wow! It is already the last month of the year. Soon it will be Christmas and then the new year will be upon us.

It was only supposed to get in the 40’s and I am not sure how warm it actually made it to, but it was a nice day to be out in mother nature. I had been in the house for about a week with only an occasional trip to the store into the closest big town. So I just had to get out for a while. I am really glad I did as the day turned out pretty. The sun was shining with an every slight breeze. So it was me with my camera (no tripod) and a 70-200 mm lens.

I was not sure where I was going to go so I drove the car south and then headed west. I still was not sure where I was going to end up so I just drove and enjoyed the drive. I went past the turn off to Shades State Park and was fast approaching Turkey Run State Park. Good ole Turkey Run, no matter how many times you visit it and think you know it like a close friend, you find out you don’t. There are places to take photographs that seem new every time I visit it. When I came upon the turn off for Turkey Run I went into the entrance and went on into the park. What I saw was rather barren to what most people would see but I still saw plenty of life in the park. There was maybe a hand-full of people in the park but that didn’t matter to me. My plans were to go where I knew there was not many people to contend with. Believe it or not there are places in State Parks that still have areas that are not visited too much. I just know that I wanted to be alone in the woods where I could feel, smell and enjoy the great outdoors. As I walked alone in the woods, all I could hear were the sounds of nature and the crunching and swooshing of the leaves under my feet.

An Easy walk on this trail. It is covered with large gravel stones and now plenty of fallen leaves.

An Easy walk on this trail. It is covered with large gravel stones and now plenty of fallen leaves.

I wanted to see one area that I just love seeing. It is a small lake that is apparently not visited much. I base this on the evidence of what I see from the jerks who like to litter on the ground and the trail that I take once I am down at the water’s edge.

Most of the way walking to the lake was accompanied with the sounds of some birds. I kept hearing them but when I would stop to see what they were I could never find them. Finally I heard one that was really close to me. He was up in a tree just above me so I stopped and watched him for a while. He was either trying to break open a nut or stuff it into a tree for winter storage. He was frantic in his attempt. It was comical watching this and at that time I wished that I had brought alone my 3-legged camping stool. I think I could have sat there for hours watching him and his companions working as hard as they were.

This Redheaded Woodpecker never sat still for more than a second.

This Redheaded Woodpecker never sat still for more than a second.

My destination for the moment was a lake area that I know has not been visited much. I took several photographs from the trail then went down a small trail that runs along side of the lake. I think this trail was mostly made by animals but I know that people also walked on it. The trail went back quite a ways beside the lake until it was no longer a trail. I stopped several times hoping to see some deer or turkeys so I could possibly take some photographs of. I didn’t see any but that was okay as I was soaking in the suns rays and enjoying the peace and quiet.

Ice on the lake already.

Ice on the lake already.

After relaxing for about an hour at the lake and listening to the birds I decided to head on down the trail further away from where my car was parked. I could see what I was coming upon more now that the leaves are on the ground. I could see the Narrows Covered Bridge through the trees and I was still a long way from it. So I took some pictures of it as I moved closer to it.

This was approaching Narrows Bridge.

This was approaching Narrows Bridge.

I walked all over the area of the covered bridge. I had been there so many times and you would think I would get tired of it. But believe me, I don’t. I took several photographs from inside the bridge and also while standing on the huge rocks and boulders along Sugar Creek.

The pigeons roost all along this area as there are holes all along the creek that I assume was made by water.

The pigeons roost all along this area as there are holes all along the creek that I assume was made by water.

This ice-cycle was begging to be photographed.

This ice-cycle was begging to be photographed.

After sitting there for what seemed like quite a while I finally decided to mosey on down the trail, so to speak. Well, I wasn’t in any rush. If you hurry along the trails/woods, you will miss more than what you can ever imagine.

I noticed someone had walked out into the creek upstream from the bridges. There are two bridges at this place. Narrows Covered Bridge and a regular cement bridge that traffic drives across. So I sat back down on the rocks and watched to see what he was doing. He was wading out into the water and he had his fly rod with him. I just had to watch him for a while longer. His reflection along with the trees, rocks and everything looked so beautiful. I could even see his line as he was flipping it out into the water. It was his graceful relaxing movements that caught my attention too.

This was such a beautiful scene. I wish I had seen this during the time the leaves were changing.

This was such a beautiful scene. I wish I had seen this during the time the leaves were changing.

So off I went to visit the Lusk Home that is north of the covered bridge. Every time I had been here I have never seen this place open for visitors to walk inside. I need to ask someone at the park if it is ever open to the public. I would love to take some HDR photographs of the inside with the furniture and all.

The view from the back of the Lusk Home past the garden space.

The view from the back of the Lusk Home past the garden space.

There are always berries of some sort on trees and bushes all winter long.

There are always berries of some sort on trees and bushes all winter long.

The grave site of Caroline  which is beside the house.

The grave site of Caroline which is beside the house.

I had been out in the woods for several hours by that time. I had only seen three men while I was on this little adventure. One was a Park ranger in his truck cleaning part of the trail (after I had already stepped over the downed branches) and two men that were probably sneaking into the park from the Narrows Bridge. My walk back to the car was relaxing and I was still enjoying seeing animals and birds along the way. The squirrels and chipmunks were scurrying along up and down trees and across downed trees and branches. I can’t even begin to tell you how many I saw on the short walk. I did manage to get a shot of a chipmunk along the way but he was still quite a ways from me so I had to crop the picture an awful lot. It’s sad but the more you crop a photograph the blurrier it gets. The same goes for the Redheaded Woodpecker I took photos of.

I wondered which this was, Chip or Dale.

I wondered which this was, Chip or Dale.

The rest of my walk was a leisurely walk as I listened to the rustle of the leaves under my feet and of course all the critters I saw along the trail and in the trees. I am glad I went for this short adventure today as I needed to get back out where I could appreciate what Mother Nature has offered to us all if we only take the time to admire the beauty of it. So ladies and gentlemen, get out once in a while for a leisurely stroll in what has been laid out for you to admire. Even when nature is bare like it was that day, it is still a beautiful thing if you only look past and into what is there for you to admire.

About bobh47955

A nature lover, photographer and an all around good guy, I hope! :-)
This entry was posted in animals, Birds, Bridges, creeks, Critters, Garden, History, Interesting Areas, Nature, Photography, Trips, Wild Animals and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to A Warm Fall Day.

  1. JustDeb says:

    Looks like a great walk, Bob. In NE WI, we are into winter it seems and the snow photos will be what I take for a while. I love the covered bridges. Great stuff, thanks!

Leave a Reply

