Pine Hills Nature Preserve


Two days ago (June 30th) I made a quick trip to Pine Hills Nature Preserve. I wanted to get out of town and the noise for a while. The mind and body needs to get back to nature once in a while.
Pine Hills has changed so much since the first time I had visited it over 30 years ago. There used to be a rather large carving in the walkway which is called Devils’s Backbone. Unfortunately time and many thousands of feet has worn this carving so it cannot be found anymore.
It was a hot and humid day but it was worth all the effort and sweat I put into this trip. I would do it again tomorrow if the weathermen would just stop forecasting thunderstorms. Thunderstorms were forecast the day I went but I chanced it and it all worked out fine.

The walkway across the Devil's Backbone. Still has numerous carvings on it.

The walkway across the Devil’s Backbone. Still has numerous carvings on it.

A side view of the Devils's Backbone

A side view of the Devils’s Backbone

This is trail one leading to the points of interest in the Nature Reserve

This is trail one leading to the points of interest in the Nature Reserve

A small stream that runs beside the Slide (on right of picture) and the Devil's Backbone

A small stream that runs beside the Slide (on right of picture) and the Devil’s Backbone

On my way out I almost stepped on this Millipede. He was scurrying across the path. Why did the Millipede cross the path? To get to the other side......

On my way out I almost stepped on this Millipede. He was scurrying across the path. Why did the Millipede cross the path? To get to the other side……

About bobh47955

A nature lover, photographer and an all around good guy, I hope! :-)
This entry was posted in History, Interesting Areas, Nature, Photography, Rocks, Scenery, Travel, Trips, water and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Pine Hills Nature Preserve

Leave a Reply

