Busy Day


For me, it was a busy day. Good and very busy. I drove to Lafayette to get some Chinese food and took it to the Columbian Park to eat it. Then I walked around and shot a few pictures.

This fellow was catching some Zzzzz's. He was behind some glass and the glass was very dirty but a polarizer helps with that.

This fellow was catching some Zzzzz’s. He was behind some glass and the glass was very dirty but a polarizer helps with that.

Newly built last year. It is a train depot for the small train people ride on around the park.

Newly built last year. It is a train depot for the small train people ride on around the park.

Part of a flower bed beside the Veterans Memorial.

Part of a flower bed beside the Veterans Memorial.


After that I thought maybe it wouldn’t be a bad idea to drop by the Fairgrounds to walk around it at the Fair. It seemed a lot was missing in some of the tents and some were not even open.I watched the horse show which didn’t make sense to me. I think they were judging them as all the horse and rider did was trot around then go stand beside the fence. After watching them for a while I left to go back home. Stopped there for a while and switched cameras then drove down to Crawfordsville as the fair was on it’s last day there. Lafayette is Tippecanoe County and Crawfordsville is Montgomery County. I arrived at the Crawfordsville fairgrounds and didn’t see a lot of activity going on. Walked around and found out the last few venders were packing up to go back home. Alrighty then! Missed that one for sure. So off I go back home to rest up my aching back for the events of the night. Yep, I had planned on visiting the fair in Lafayette so I could take some night time photographs of the fair rides and booths. So that was the plan.

Parking around the fairgrounds is a joke. So many people go that finding a parking place was a task in itself. I found one across the street from a friends house in a church parking lot. I parked in front of a sign that said Senior Parking. Hey, I qualify since I am considered a Senior. 🙂

I only had to walk two blocks to get to the fairgrounds and when I got there I found out just how busy it actually was. The rides area was packed. At times the traffic came to a stand still due to some individuals stopping and holding up the whole show. Gheese! 🙂

I took a few shots when the sun was up.

This to me is the Tilt-A-Whirl. That is what they called it when I was younger.

This to me is the Tilt-A-Whirl. That is what they called it when I was younger.

Pharaoh's Fury.

Pharaoh’s Fury.

The prices of these vendors is crazy now. People still pay it anyway.

The prices of these vendors is crazy now. People still pay it anyway.

I think everyone knows what this is.

I think everyone knows what this is.


I was really anxious for it to get dark. That is when the fairs are pretty with all the lights going.

It was almost dark but not good enough yet.

The little kids seemed to enjoy this.

The little kids seemed to enjoy this.

Need I say more?

Need I say more?


Okay, the sun has finally went down and now I could have my fun. I hope you all enjoy this type of photography. I enjoyed doing it.

I rode on one of these when I was a kid. Not anymore. I'm not sure what they call it now but when I was younger it was called the Scrambler.

I rode on one of these when I was a kid. Not anymore. I’m not sure what they call it now but when I was younger it was called the Scrambler.

This is the Pharaoh's Fury. To me it looked like a huge swing that holds lot of screaming people.

This is the Pharaoh’s Fury. To me it looked like a huge swing that holds lot of screaming people.

The lights on the beams were changing colors so it made it interesting on the Ferris Wheel.

The lights on the beams were changing colors so it made it interesting on the Ferris Wheel.

Ferris-Wheel-5

I even shot video of the rides but have not pieced them together yet. I might work on that soon but then…………………………..

About bobh47955

A nature lover, photographer and an all around good guy, I hope! :-)
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

